Craft Room Spring Cleaning

Spring cleaning in my craft room is bitter sweet. If you are like me, it is difficult to let go of anything craft related. I know that if I destash that one embellishment that I have not used in 3 years, it would have been the perfect embellishment on my next project. But let’s get real. We don’t have unlimited crafting space, and while I would LOVE to take over my entire house with my crafting items, I am not so sure the rest of the family would appreciate that.

Now I know first hand that letting go of things is not easy, especially when it comes to our craft items. Just the thought of getting rid of anything is upsetting. We tend to build emotional attachments to some of our crafty items which brings back fond memories of all the wonderful items we have created with them. But as I said earlier, our space is not unlimited, and the more we have, the less we have space for, and we all know we need space for all those new releases and latest MUST HAVES!

So here is how I approach my Craft Room Spring cleaning. I have two boxes. The first box I fill with all the things I have not used and probably will never use. Many of these items are things I probably found on sale, or in someone else’s destash that I thought was too good to pass up. The second box I fill with items I am considering destashing, but may not be ready to pull the trigger yet. I keep these items in a plastic box with a lid and this box becomes my “go to” box. This box stacks nicely below my desk making it easy to access.There is obviously a reason that I am hanging on to these items, so I make it a point to start using them. I will either find a renewed love for the item, or realize that I can do without it.

There are also a variety of Destash groups on Facebook where you can sell your used items. This makes the pain of letting go a little easier as you now have cash to buy that “New” item you have been eyeing.

So what is your approach to destashing? I would love to hear it in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Craft Room Spring Cleaning

  1. My approach to destashing is I don’t destash I just reorganize. One time I downsized the stuff in my craft room and had a big yard sale for my downsizing items. Well, after about 4 months I had repurchased a lot of the items I sold at my yard sale. Therefore, I just keep everything. I have a craft room about 12 ft X 10 ft and I always seem to find room for all my stuff. When It starts looking a little crowded I just reorganize and find more room. I add storage space by going under things or going on or up the wall.

    Like

Leave a Reply

