There are no Rules in CRAFTING

It seems like all around us we have rules to follow. Growing up I am sure we all had rules we had to abide by and that didn’t change when we got into adulthood.  But the one place that I don’t have to follow rules is in the Craftroom!  Sure there are techniques that may require a process to follow, but I am talking more about your creativity and just being creative in general. When you don’t have constraints, you are free to think outside of the box, which makes everything possible. Sometimes that even means getting crafting advice from your husband!

!B,)4h7!CGk-$(KGrHqIH-CgEqtR5PRUwBKs-4dT2mg--_58

Recently I have been experimenting “outside of the box” and trying to find different and non traditional items to use in my projects.  In some of my mixed media projects I have used coffee grounds and even herbs to create color and texture. There are numerous videos on You Tube to show you how to make your own texture paste and gesso. You can even use an old hotel key card as your spreading tool, eliminating the need to go out and buy Palette knives. You can even discover products that can be substituted for the more expensive items that seem to be more mainstream.

IMG_3371[1]

Many of us get caught up in the most recent products out in the market. We see a project that we want to CASE and immediately get deterred thinking we don’t have the supplies or products that were used.  But where is it written that we have to use exactly the same things that everyone else is using?  I haven’t read that anywhere and if it is, it is NOT a rule I am going to follow.

5ab555b0-32f8-442f-bf06-f480aadb886b_1.a6aa7cd1ae0caaf5c6c76e580a2ce24b

Over the weekend I needed some texture paste. Typically I order mine on line because I am used to a particular brand. I went to my local Hobby Lobby and couldn’t find it. I think because I was looking for something I was used to. My husband volunteered to try and find it. I think new eyes made all the difference. He pulled this product off of the shelve and asked if this particular product would work. It was pretty inexpensive and I did have a 40% off coupon so I thought I would give it a try. I LOVE IT! I found it to be not as thick as the brand I typically use and I was able to stamp on it very easily once it was dry. It still had the look and feel of texture paste, so I didn’t feel as though I was sacrificing what I was trying to achieve. But there’s more…

shopping

Often I like to color my texture paste, but when you add liquid, it tends to make the paste a little to runny. I also like to use Earth tones in my projects..uh I love vintage..did you forget and again my husband came to the rescue. He paints models and he had a product called Vallejo Pigments. It is a natural pigment that can be mixed with water, acrylics, mediums, varnishes and textures.  This is a product used for models and miniatures and probably would have never discovered it, but you bet I will be robbing…uh borrowing some of his supplies in the future. I wonder what else he has?

Happy Shopping!

Have you joined the Craft Room Daily Deals facebook group yet? Don’t forget to check it out to find your next crafty deal.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

