Mixed Media – Friend or Foe?

Does Mixed Media intimidate you? I know it did me. I thought that it was only for canvases and bigger projects. But it’s not!  If you are familiar with my work, you can see lots of mixed media product on many of my greeting cards. I have also published some you tube videos on this topic as well.

17632439_1491110294256371_2563168853245422173_o

So what is Mixed Media really? Mixed media” tends to refer to a work of visual art that combines various traditionally distinct visual artmedia—for example, a work on canvas that combines paint, ink, and collage could properly be called a “mixed media” work, but not a work of “multimedia art.”
If you are still intimidated by this medium, Pinterest has lots of ideas to lead you down this new path. You can go as slow or as fast as your comfort level allows.

Maybe you are already a Lover of Mixed Media? Either way, if you need to stock up or have just been thinking about trying a new medium, this may just be the time! All Faber-Castell product is on sale!

Faber Castell’s lines are perfect for mixed media artists, papercrafters, and scrapbookers. This line includes pencils, pens, gelatos and markers. You can also pick up some stencils, paste and Gesso. You can easily transition some of your current work by adding some different mediums.

Tim Holtz is another brand that offers some different mediums. I use many of these products in my day to day art work. While many are intimidated by distress crayons, I find them to have multi uses. You can easily color up your texture paste or gesso by scribbling a distress crayon onto your craft mat and mixing in your medium.  This is an easy inexpensive way to get a variety of color in your art work.

Collage mediums are also great to adhere ephemera or help you create a collage. I use this product with my fingers, but there are also Collage brushes to help spread this medium. Select Tim Holtz mediums are also on sale!

Here are some of my favorite items:

So leave me a comment and let me know if Mixed Media is a friend or foe and why. I would love to hear your thoughts.

Happy Shopping!

Have you joined the Craft Room Daily Deals facebook group yet? Don’t forget to check it out to find your next crafty deal.

2 thoughts on “Mixed Media – Friend or Foe?

  1. I recently attended a Mixed Media workshop with Jenn Shurkus in Cape Cod. This was my first venture into that art genre. I LOVED it! Had a great time!

    Like

Leave a Reply

